Page Menu Mobile Menu Button

About the Pharmacy Residency Program

Benefis Hospitals Residency Program Accreditation: The Benefis Hospitals PGY-1 residency program is fully accredited by ASHP. Benefis Hospitals is committed to ongoing compliance with ASHP Standards to maintain accreditation status. ASHP Accreditation Standards

Purpose Statement

The PGY-1 pharmacy residency program at Benefis Hospitals builds on Doctor of Pharmacy education and outcomes to contribute to the development of clinical pharmacists responsible for medication-related care of patients with a wide range of conditions, eligible for board certification, and eligible for postgraduate year two (PGY-2) pharmacy residency training. Download our Pharmacy Residency Brochure below:


The PGY-1 residency program is a 12-month postgraduate training program that will provide training opportunities in acute care, ambulatory care, clinical services, and pharmacy leadership with an emphasis on rural health care. The program offers residents substantial program flexibility in developing a residency schedule that helps to explore their area(s) of interest.

The program is based on five outcome measures:

  1. Provide skilled, patient-centered pharmaceutical care to multiple patient populations
  2. Develop effective communication as a part of the healthcare team
  3. Improve safety efforts through evaluation of medication systems
  4. Provide effective education to students, patients, and other healthcare workers
  5. Develop marketable job skills

Benefis Residency Program Structure:

The Benefis Hospitals Residency Program designates what rotations are considered required and will develop elective experiences based on resident interest. The Benefis Hospitals Residency Program will maintain the flexibility to work with resident’s interests to ensure a balance of gaining a foundational knowledge of clinical practice while providing opportunities for diving into their clinical areas of interests. Pharmacy residents will also be required to staff the central pharmacy every third weekend, and complete a teaching certificate through The University of Montana College of Pharmacy.

Residency Stipend, Benefits, and Leave

  • Duration of appointment: One year period from July 1 to June 30
  • Annual stipend: $49,000
  • Paid time off (PTO): 14 days in the year, this includes sick days – approved by the Pharmacy Manager and RPD
    • Holiday coverage
      • The resident will be responsible for covering a minimum of two holidays, one major and one minor (but could be more). The resident will be onsite for all holidays unless requests are submitted by the resident for PTO and approved by the Pharmacy Manger and RPD.
    • Extended leave
      • The pharmacy residency program will follow leave of absence requests per Benefis Health System Leave Of Absence policy.
  • Professional travel stipend to attend residency conference(s) Approx. $2,500
  • Professional leave as required for professional meetings (travel for interviews are not considered professional travel)
    • All professional leave is subject to approval by the Pharmacy Manager and RPD
  • Health and Life insurance will be provided by Benefis Hospitals as outlined by human resources. These benefits will be offered to the same capacity as other employees of the organization.
  • Residents are covered under the hospital’s general liability insurance at the hospital’s expense. Additional liability coverage through one of the professional organizations (e.g. ASHP) is available at the residents’ expense.
Ethan Vigi Award
Ethan Meide, Pharm.D., MBA, was the recipient of the 2022 Rising Star Vigi Award.

Past Residents

  • 2021 - 22: Megan Nelson, Pharm.D.
                       Brett Lehman, Pharm.D.
                       Ethan Meide, Pharm.D., MBA
  • 2020 - 21: Kiersten Ruedy, Pharm.D.
                       Shelby Koppany, Pharm.D.
  • 2019 - 20: Samantha Basco, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCIDP
                       Jacqueline Bone, Pharm.D.
                       Aimee Thornton, Pharm.D.
  • 2018 - 19: Hannah Alfred, Pharm.D.
  • 2017 - 18: Aspen Klawitter, Pharm.D.
  • 2016 - 17: Alyissa Canady, Pharm.D., BCPS
  • 2015 - 16: Alanna Lehman, Pharm.D., BCOP
  • 2014 - 15: Keaten LaBrel, Pharm.D.
  • 2013 - 14: Logan Tinsen, Pharm.D., FMPA
  • 2012 - 13: Rebecca Amen, Pharm.D., BCPS
  • 2011 - 12: Britney Hobbs, Pharm.D., BCPS
  • 2010 - 11: Shawna Cook, Pharm.D., BCPS